Skip to main content

The Woodland Opera House 340 2nd Street Woodland, CA 95695 530-666-9617

Purchase Tickets Here
2017-18 Main Stage
2017-18 Family Theatre
Special Events
Seating Chart
James, Junior
---- Classes for Adults
Staff / Instructor Bios
School Outreach
Cast Lists
Virtual Tour
Sign up for newsletter
Board of Trustees
Contact Us
Guild Information
Wish List
General Information
Directions & Where to Eat
Archive Pictures
Member Login
The 28th Annual Gene A. Chesley Awards

The Woodland Opera House celebrated the 28th Annual Chesley Awards Gala on Sunday evening, June 25th. The awards program is held each year as a thank you to actors, technical crew members, the Opera House Guild, sponsors, underwriters and those who support the Opera House in many other ways. A crowd of approximately 200 attended and enjoyed entertainment by Ralph Gordon, appetizers by Kitchen 428 and gourmet cupcakes by April Wagoner and the program presented by emcee Steve Cairns. Photos courtesy Karen Alexander Photography


List of Chesley Award winners follows:

Leading Actress in a Musical: Eimi Taormina (as Miss Adelaide in Guys and Dolls)
Leading Actor in a Musical: Dalton McNeely (as the Beast in Beauty and the Beast)
Supporting Actress in a Musical: Kara Cummins (as Mrs. Potts in Beauty and the Beast)
Supporting Actor in a Musical: Darry Strohl-DeHerrera (as Lumiere in Beauty and the Beast)
Leading Actress in a Play: Rachel Trauner (as Anne in The Diary of Anne Frank)
Leading Actor in a Play: Steve Mackay (as Mr. Frank in The Diary of Anne Frank)
Supporting Actress in a Play: Lenore Sebastian (as Mrs. van Daan in the Diary of Anne Frank)
Supporting Actor in a Play: Gil Sebastian (as Mr. van Daan in the Diary of Anne Frank)
Featured Performance in a Musical: Bob Cooner (as Arvide in Guys and Dolls)
Featured Performance in a Play: Jessica Hanselman (as Miep in The Diary of Anne Frank)
Favorite Production: Beauty and the Beast


Nadine Salonites Board of Trustees Award: Steve Cairns
Lou Anderson Techie of the Year Award: Bruce Lohse
Hershey Award of Excellence in Youth Theatre: Savannah McCoy
Special Award of Recognition for retiring Technical Director: John Bowles

WOH Education Program Scholarship: Hunter LaMar


The annual Chesley Awards honor actors and technicians from our most recent Main Stage and Theatre for Family season. We also honor the many volunteers and sponsors who made the past season of plays, musicals, children's programs, and concerts possible.